Samsung Galaxy Core Plus vs Sony Xperia E1
A spec-by-spec comparison of the Samsung Galaxy Core Plus and the Sony Xperia E1, taken from their full specification sheets. Green marks the better value in each measured row.
Head to head
| Samsung Galaxy Core Plus | Sony Xperia E1 |
| Price | $4,541 | $2,922 |
| Our rating | 3/10 | 5/10 |
| Battery | 1,800 mAh | 1,750 mAh |
| Storage (max) | 64 GB | 32 GB |
| Screen size | 4.3 in | 4 in |
| Main camera | 5 MP | 15 MP |
| Weight (lower is lighter) | 132 g | 120 g |
| Released | Oct 2013 | Mar 2014 |
Summary: Samsung Galaxy Core Plus is ahead on battery, storage (max), screen size. Sony Xperia E1 is ahead on our rating, main camera, weight (lower is lighter).
★ Which should you buy? Specs are close to an even split here, so Sony Xperia E1 is the better buy — the extra cost of the other one isn't matched by a clear spec advantage.
Reviewed by the infozme.com Editorial Team — see how we research & rate phones.
Display
| Samsung Galaxy Core Plus | Sony Xperia E1 |
| Type | TFT capacitive touchscreen, 16M colors | TFT capacitive touchscreen |
| Size | 4.3 inches (~61.5% screen-to-body ratio) | 4.0 inches |
| Resolution | 480 x 800 pixels (~217 ppi density) | 480 x 800 pixels |
| Protection | — | Not specified |
| Pixel Density | — | 233 ppi |
Platform
| Samsung Galaxy Core Plus | Sony Xperia E1 |
| OS | Android 4.2 (Jelly Bean) | Android 4.3 (Jelly Bean), upgradable to 4.4.2 (KitKat) |
| Chipset | Broadcom BCM21664 | Qualcomm MSM8210 Snapdragon 200 |
| CPU | 1.2 GHz dual-core | Dual-core 1.2 GHz Cortex-A7 |
| GPU | Broadcom VideoCore IV | Adreno 302 |
Memory
| Samsung Galaxy Core Plus | Sony Xperia E1 |
| Card slot | microSDXC (dedicated slot), up to 64GB | microSDHC, up to 32 GB (dedicated slot) |
| Internal | 4GB eMMC, 768MB RAM (some variants had 512MB RAM) | 4GB, 512MB RAM |
| User available storage | — | Approximately 2 GB |
Main Camera
| Samsung Galaxy Core Plus | Sony Xperia E1 |
| Single | 5 MP, AF | 3.15 MP |
| Features | LED flash | HDR, smile detection, 4x smooth zoom, geo-tagging, image stabilization, panorama (fixed focus, no flash) |
| Video | 720p@15fps | Not specified (does not shoot 720p videos) |
Selfie Camera
| Samsung Galaxy Core Plus | Sony Xperia E1 |
| Single | 0.3 MP (VGA) | No |
| Video | Yes | — |
Battery
| Samsung Galaxy Core Plus | Sony Xperia E1 |
| Type | Removable Li-Ion 1800 mAh | Li-Ion |
| Talk time | Up to 9 h (3G) | Up to 9 h (2G) / 8 h 13 min (3G) |
| Stand-by | Up to 320 h (3G) | Up to 498 h (2G) / 454 h (3G) |
| Capacity | — | 1750 mAh |
| Removable | — | Yes |
Body
| Samsung Galaxy Core Plus | Sony Xperia E1 |
| Dimensions | 129.7 x 66 x 9.5 mm (5.11 x 2.60 x 0.37 in) | 118 x 62.4 x 12 mm (4.65 x 2.46 x 0.47 in) |
| Weight | 132 g (4.66 oz) | 120 g (4.23 oz) |
| SIM | Single SIM or Dual SIM (Regular/Mini-SIM) | Mini-SIM |
| Build | — | Plastic body |
Comms
| Samsung Galaxy Core Plus | Sony Xperia E1 |
| WLAN | Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n, Wi-Fi Direct | Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n, Wi-Fi Direct, hotspot |
| Bluetooth | 3.0, A2DP | 4.0, A2DP |
| Positioning | GPS, A-GPS | — |
| NFC | Yes (market dependent) | No |
| Radio | FM radio | — |
| USB | microUSB 2.0 | microUSB 2.0 |
| GPS | — | Yes, with A-GPS, GLONASS |
Launch
| Samsung Galaxy Core Plus | Sony Xperia E1 |
| Announced | 2013, October | January 2014 |
| Status | Released 2013, October | Released March 2014 |
Frequently asked questions
Which has the better battery, Samsung Galaxy Core Plus or Sony Xperia E1?
Samsung Galaxy Core Plus — 1,800 mAh for the Samsung Galaxy Core Plus versus 1,750 mAh for the Sony Xperia E1.
Which is lighter, Samsung Galaxy Core Plus or Sony Xperia E1?
Sony Xperia E1 — 132 g for the Samsung Galaxy Core Plus versus 120 g for the Sony Xperia E1.
Which is newer, Samsung Galaxy Core Plus or Sony Xperia E1?
Sony Xperia E1 — Oct 2013 for the Samsung Galaxy Core Plus versus Mar 2014 for the Sony Xperia E1.
Is the Samsung Galaxy Core Plus or the Sony Xperia E1 rated higher?
We rate the Samsung Galaxy Core Plus 3/10 and the Sony Xperia E1 5/10.
Best phone lists →