OnePlus 12R vs Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max
A spec-by-spec comparison of the OnePlus 12R and the Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max, taken from their full specification sheets. Green marks the better value in each measured row.
Head to head
| OnePlus 12R | Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max |
| Our rating | 8/10 | 9/10 |
| Battery | 5,500 mAh | 10,000 mAh |
| Wired charging | 80W | 100W |
| Storage (max) | 256 GB | 512 GB |
| Screen size | 6.78 in | — |
| Refresh rate | 120 Hz | 120 Hz |
| Main camera | 50 MP | 50 MP |
| Weight (lower is lighter) | 207 g | — |
| Released | Jan 2024 | Aug 2026 |
Summary: Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max is ahead on our rating, battery, wired charging, storage (max).
Display
| OnePlus 12R | Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max |
| Type | LTPO4 AMOLED, 1B colors, 120Hz, HDR10+, 4500 nits (peak) | 6.83-inch 1.5K CrystalRes AMOLED, 120Hz refresh rate |
| Size | 6.78 inches, 111.7 cm2 (~90.9% screen-to-body ratio) | — |
| Resolution | 1264 x 2780 pixels, 19.8:9 ratio (~450 ppi density) | 2772 x 1280 pixels |
| Protection | Corning Gorilla Glass Victus 2 | Corning Gorilla Glass Victus 2 |
| Features | Always-on display, Eye comfort, Nature Tone Display, Video color enhancer | — |
| Brightness | — | 3500 nits peak brightness |
Platform
| OnePlus 12R | Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max |
| Chipset | Qualcomm SM8550-AB Snapdragon 8 Gen 2 (4 nm) | Snapdragon 6 Gen 5 Mobile Platform (4nm) |
| CPU | Octa-core (1x3.2 GHz Cortex-X3 & 2x2.8 GHz Cortex-A715 & 2x2.8 GHz Cortex-A710 & 3x2.0 GHz Cortex-A510) | — |
| GPU | Adreno 740 | — |
| OS | — | Android 16, HyperOS 3 |
Memory
| OnePlus 12R | Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max |
| RAM | 8GB, 16GB LPDDR5X | 8GB, 12GB (up to 24GB with memory extension) |
| Storage | 128GB UFS 3.1, 256GB UFS 3.1 (some regions/variants may have UFS 4.0 for 256GB) | — |
| Card Slot | No | No |
| Internal Storage | — | 128GB (UFS 2.2), 256GB (UFS 4.1), 512GB (UFS 4.1) |
Main Camera
| OnePlus 12R | Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max |
| Triple | 50 MP, f/1.8, 24mm (wide), 1/1.56", 1.0µm, multi-directional PDAF, OIS; 8 MP, f/2.2, 112˚ (ultrawide), 1/4.0", 1.12µm; 2 MP, f/2.4, (macro) | — |
| Features | LED flash, HDR, panorama | AI ultra-clear imaging system, Live Moment |
| Video | 4K@30/60fps, 1080p@30/60/120/240fps, gyro-EIS, OIS | 4K@30fps, 1080p@60fps (inferred) |
| Modules | — | 50 MP (wide) with OIS, f/1.5 aperture; 8 MP (ultrawide) f/2.2 |
Selfie Camera
| OnePlus 12R | Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max |
| Single | 16 MP, f/2.4, 26mm (wide), 1/3.09", 1.0µm | — |
| Features | HDR | — |
| Video | 1080p@30fps, gyro-EIS | 1080p@30fps (inferred) |
| Modules | — | 32 MP (wide) f/2.2 |
Battery
| OnePlus 12R | Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max |
| Type | Li-Po 5500 mAh, non-removable | 10000mAh Silicon-Carbon Battery |
| Charging | 80W wired, 1-100% in 31 min (advertised) | 100W HyperCharge (20-minute charge for all-day use) |
| Reverse Charging | — | 27W wired reverse charging |
| Management | — | Xiaomi Surge G2 battery management chipset |
Body
| OnePlus 12R | Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max |
| Dimensions | 163.3 x 75.3 x 8.8 mm (6.43 x 2.96 x 0.35 in) | 163.44mm x 78.27mm x 8.65mm (Green, Purple, Black) / 8.57mm (Cloud Blush) |
| Weight | 207 g (7.30 oz) | 229.5g |
| Build | Glass front (Gorilla Glass Victus 2), glass back, aluminum frame | Corning Gorilla Glass Victus 2 front, metal frame (inferred) |
| Colors | Cool Blue, Iron Gray | — |
| Durability | IP64 dust and splash resistant | IP66/IP68/IP69/IP69K dust and water resistance, SGS certified for drops up to 3 meters |
| SIM | — | Dual SIM (Nano-SIM) |
Comms
| OnePlus 12R | Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max |
| WLAN | Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax/be, dual-band, Wi-Fi 7 capable | Wi-Fi (standard not specified, likely Wi-Fi 6/7) |
| Bluetooth | 5.3, A2DP, LE, aptX HD | Bluetooth (version not specified, likely 5.x) |
| GPS | GPS (L1+L5), GLONASS (G1), Galileo (E1+E5a), BDS, QZSS | — |
| NFC | Yes | Yes (inferred) |
| Radio | No | — |
| USB | USB Type-C 2.0, OTG | USB Type-C |
| Positioning | — | GPS, GLONASS, BDS, GALILEO (inferred) |
Launch
| OnePlus 12R | Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max |
| Announced | January 23, 2024 | 2026, August 27 |
| Status | Available. Released February 6, 2024 | Released 2026, August 28 |
| OS | Android 14, OxygenOS 14 (up to 3 major OS updates promised) | — |
Frequently asked questions
Which has the better battery, OnePlus 12R or Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max?
Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max — 5,500 mAh for the OnePlus 12R versus 10,000 mAh for the Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max.
Which is newer, OnePlus 12R or Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max?
Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max — Jan 2024 for the OnePlus 12R versus Aug 2026 for the Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max.
Is the OnePlus 12R or the Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max rated higher?
We rate the OnePlus 12R 8/10 and the Xiaomi Redmi Note 17 Pro Max 9/10.
Best phone lists →