Motorola Edge (2023) vs Nothing Phone (2)

A spec-by-spec comparison of the Motorola Edge (2023) and the Nothing Phone (2), taken from their full specification sheets. Green marks the better value in each measured row.

Head to head

Motorola Edge (2023)Nothing Phone (2)
Price$3,895$599
Our rating6/107/10
Battery4,400 mAh4,700 mAh
Wired charging68W45W
RAM (max)—12 GB
Storage (max)256 GB512 GB
Screen size6.6 in6.7 in
Refresh rate144 Hz120 Hz
Main camera50 MP50 MP
Weight (lower is lighter)168 g—
ReleasedOct 2023Jul 2023
Summary: Motorola Edge (2023) is ahead on wired charging, refresh rate. Nothing Phone (2) is ahead on our rating, battery, storage (max), screen size.
★ Which should you buy? Nothing Phone (2) is the stronger overall pick on the measured specs.

Display

Motorola Edge (2023)Nothing Phone (2)
TypepOLED, 144Hz, HDR10+, 1200 nits (peak)LTPO OLED, 1B colors, 120Hz, HDR10+, 1600 nits (peak)
Size6.6 inches6.7 inches
Resolution1080 x 2400 pixels (FHD+), 20:9 aspect ratio, 402 ppi1080 x 2412 pixels
ProtectionNot specified (curved 3D glass)Corning Gorilla Glass

Platform

Motorola Edge (2023)Nothing Phone (2)
ChipsetMediaTek Dimensity 7030Qualcomm Snapdragon 8+ Gen 1
CPUOcta-coreOcta-core (1x3.0 GHz Cortex-X2 & 3x2.5 GHz Cortex-A710 & 4x1.80 GHz Cortex-A510)
GPUMali-G610 MC3Adreno 730
OS—Android 13, upgradable to Android 15 (Nothing OS 2.0)

Memory

Motorola Edge (2023)Nothing Phone (2)
RAM8GB—
Internal Storage256GB UFS 2.2—
Card SlotNo—
Card slot—No
Internal—128GB 8GB RAM, 256GB 12GB RAM, 512GB 12GB RAM

Main Camera

Motorola Edge (2023)Nothing Phone (2)
Modules50 MP, f/1.4, (wide), 1/1.55", 1.0µm, multi-directional PDAF, OIS; 13 MP, f/2.2, 120˚ (ultrawide), 1.12µm, AF—
FeaturesDual-LED flash, HDR, panoramaLED flash, panorama, HDR
Video4K@30fps, 1080p@30/60/120fps4K@30/60fps, 1080p@30/60fps, gyro-EIS, OIS
Dual—50 MP, f/1.9, 24mm (wide), 1/1.56", PDAF, OIS; 50 MP, f/2.2, 114˚ (ultrawide), 1/2.76", AF

Selfie Camera

Motorola Edge (2023)Nothing Phone (2)
Modules32 MP, f/2.4, (wide), 0.7µm—
FeaturesHDRHDR
Video4K@30fps, 1080p@30fps1080p@30fps
Single—32 MP, f/2.5, (wide), 1/2.74"

Battery

Motorola Edge (2023)Nothing Phone (2)
Type4400 mAh, non-removableLi-Ion 4700 mAh, non-removable
Charging68W wired, wireless charging45W wired (0-100% in 55-56 min), 15W wireless, 5W reverse wireless

Body

Motorola Edge (2023)Nothing Phone (2)
Dimensions158.52 x 71.99 x 7.64 mm162.1 x 76.4 x 8.6 mm
Weight168 g201.2 g
BuildGlass front (curved 3D), aluminum frame, vegan leather backGlass front (Gorilla Glass 5), glass back (Gorilla Glass 5), aluminum frame
Water & Dust ResistanceIP68 rated—
SIM—Dual SIM (Nano-SIM, dual stand-by)
Other—IP54 splash, dust and water resistant

Comms

Motorola Edge (2023)Nothing Phone (2)
WLANWi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/6e, tri-bandWi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/6, dual-band, Wi-Fi Direct
BluetoothYes (version not specified)5.3, A2DP, LE
PositioningGPS, GLONASS, GALILEOGPS (L1+L5), GLONASS (L1), BDS (B1I+B1c), GALILEO (E1), QZSS (L1), NavIC
NFCYesYes
RadioNoNo
USBUSB Type-C 2.0USB Type-C 2.0, OTG

Launch

Motorola Edge (2023)Nothing Phone (2)
AnnouncedOctober 2023July 11, 2023
StatusAvailable. Released 2023, October 11Available. Released 2023, July 17
OSAndroid 13, planned upgrade to Android 14—

Frequently asked questions

Which has the better battery, Motorola Edge (2023) or Nothing Phone (2)?

Nothing Phone (2) — 4,400 mAh for the Motorola Edge (2023) versus 4,700 mAh for the Nothing Phone (2).

Which has the smoother screen, Motorola Edge (2023) or Nothing Phone (2)?

Motorola Edge (2023) — 144 Hz for the Motorola Edge (2023) versus 120 Hz for the Nothing Phone (2).

Which is newer, Motorola Edge (2023) or Nothing Phone (2)?

Motorola Edge (2023) — Oct 2023 for the Motorola Edge (2023) versus Jul 2023 for the Nothing Phone (2).

Is the Motorola Edge (2023) or the Nothing Phone (2) rated higher?

We rate the Motorola Edge (2023) 6/10 and the Nothing Phone (2) 7/10.

Best phone lists →