Motorola Edge (2023) vs Motorola Edge (2024)

A spec-by-spec comparison of the Motorola Edge (2023) and the Motorola Edge (2024), taken from their full specification sheets. Green marks the better value in each measured row.

Head to head

Motorola Edge (2023)Motorola Edge (2024)
Our rating6/107/10
Battery4,400 mAh5,000 mAh
Wired charging68W68W
Storage (max)256 GB256 GB
Screen size6.6 in6.6 in
Refresh rate144 Hz144 Hz
Main camera50 MP50 MP
Weight (lower is lighter)168 g174 g
ReleasedOct 2023Jun 2024
Summary: Motorola Edge (2023) is ahead on weight (lower is lighter). Motorola Edge (2024) is ahead on our rating, battery.

Display

Motorola Edge (2023)Motorola Edge (2024)
TypepOLED, 144Hz, HDR10+, 1200 nits (peak)pOLED, 1B colors, 144Hz, 1300 nits (peak)
Size6.6 inches6.6 inches, (~90.2% screen-to-body ratio)
Resolution1080 x 2400 pixels (FHD+), 20:9 aspect ratio, 402 ppi1080 x 2400 pixels, 20:9 ratio (~402 ppi density)
ProtectionNot specified (curved 3D glass)Corning Gorilla Glass 3

Platform

Motorola Edge (2023)Motorola Edge (2024)
ChipsetMediaTek Dimensity 7030Qualcomm Snapdragon 7s Gen 2 (4 nm)
CPUOcta-coreOcta-core (4x2.4 GHz Cortex-A78 & 4x1.95 GHz Cortex-A55)
GPUMali-G610 MC3Adreno 710

Memory

Motorola Edge (2023)Motorola Edge (2024)
RAM8GB8GB LPDDR4X
Internal Storage256GB UFS 2.2
Card SlotNoNo
Internal256GB UFS 2.2

Main Camera

Motorola Edge (2023)Motorola Edge (2024)
Modules50 MP, f/1.4, (wide), 1/1.55", 1.0µm, multi-directional PDAF, OIS; 13 MP, f/2.2, 120˚ (ultrawide), 1.12µm, AF
FeaturesDual-LED flash, HDR, panoramaLED flash, HDR, panorama
Video4K@30fps, 1080p@30/60/120fps4K@30fps, 1080p@30/60fps
Dual50 MP, f/1.8, (wide), 1/1.55", 1.0µm, multi-directional PDAF, OIS; 13 MP, f/2.2, 120˚ (ultrawide), 1.12µm, AF

Selfie Camera

Motorola Edge (2023)Motorola Edge (2024)
Modules32 MP, f/2.4, (wide), 0.7µm
FeaturesHDRHDR
Video4K@30fps, 1080p@30fps1080p@30fps
Single32 MP, f/2.4, (wide), 0.7µm

Battery

Motorola Edge (2023)Motorola Edge (2024)
Type4400 mAh, non-removableLi-Po 5000 mAh, non-removable
Charging68W wired, wireless charging68W wired (TurboPower), 15W wireless, 5W reverse wireless

Body

Motorola Edge (2023)Motorola Edge (2024)
Dimensions158.52 x 71.99 x 7.64 mm159.63 x 71.99 x 8.09 mm
Weight168 g174 g
BuildGlass front (curved 3D), aluminum frame, vegan leather backGlass front (Gorilla Glass 3), plastic frame, vegan leather back
Water & Dust ResistanceIP68 rated
ProtectionIP68 dust/water resistant

Comms

Motorola Edge (2023)Motorola Edge (2024)
WLANWi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/6e, tri-bandWi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/6e, dual-band
BluetoothYes (version not specified)5.2, A2DP, LE
PositioningGPS, GLONASS, GALILEOGPS, GLONASS, Galileo, LTEPP, SUPL
NFCYesYes
RadioNo
USBUSB Type-C 2.0USB Type-C 2.0, OTG

Launch

Motorola Edge (2023)Motorola Edge (2024)
AnnouncedOctober 2023June 4, 2024
StatusAvailable. Released 2023, October 11Released June 20, 2024
OSAndroid 13, planned upgrade to Android 14Android 14

Frequently asked questions

Which has the better battery, Motorola Edge (2023) or Motorola Edge (2024)?

Motorola Edge (2024) — 4,400 mAh for the Motorola Edge (2023) versus 5,000 mAh for the Motorola Edge (2024).

Which is lighter, Motorola Edge (2023) or Motorola Edge (2024)?

Motorola Edge (2023) — 168 g for the Motorola Edge (2023) versus 174 g for the Motorola Edge (2024).

Which is newer, Motorola Edge (2023) or Motorola Edge (2024)?

Motorola Edge (2024) — Oct 2023 for the Motorola Edge (2023) versus Jun 2024 for the Motorola Edge (2024).

Is the Motorola Edge (2023) or the Motorola Edge (2024) rated higher?

We rate the Motorola Edge (2023) 6/10 and the Motorola Edge (2024) 7/10.

Best phone lists →