Motorola Edge+ (2022) vs Motorola Edge (2023)

A spec-by-spec comparison of the Motorola Edge+ (2022) and the Motorola Edge (2023), taken from their full specification sheets. Green marks the better value in each measured row.

Head to head

Motorola Edge+ (2022)Motorola Edge (2023)
Price$165$3,895
Our rating7/106/10
Battery4,800 mAh4,400 mAh
Wired charging30W68W
Storage (max)512 GB256 GB
Screen size6.7 in6.6 in
Refresh rate144 Hz144 Hz
Main camera50 MP50 MP
Weight (lower is lighter)196 g168 g
ReleasedMar 2022Oct 2023
Summary: Motorola Edge+ (2022) is ahead on our rating, battery, storage (max), screen size. Motorola Edge (2023) is ahead on wired charging, weight (lower is lighter).
★ Which should you buy? Motorola Edge+ (2022) is the stronger overall pick on the measured specs.

Display

Motorola Edge+ (2022)Motorola Edge (2023)
TypeOLED, 144Hz, HDR10+pOLED, 144Hz, HDR10+, 1200 nits (peak)
Size6.7 inches6.6 inches
Resolution1080 x 2400 pixels1080 x 2400 pixels (FHD+), 20:9 aspect ratio, 402 ppi
ProtectionCorning Gorilla GlassNot specified (curved 3D glass)
Aspect Ratio20:9—
PPI393 ppi—

Platform

Motorola Edge+ (2022)Motorola Edge (2023)
OSAndroid 12, upgradable to Android 14—
ChipsetQualcomm SM8450 Snapdragon 8 Gen 1 (4 nm)MediaTek Dimensity 7030
CPUOcta-core (1x3.00 GHz Cortex-X2 & 3x2.50 GHz Cortex-A710 & 4x1.80 GHz Cortex-A510)Octa-core
GPUAdreno 730Mali-G610 MC3

Memory

Motorola Edge+ (2022)Motorola Edge (2023)
RAM8GB, 12GB8GB
Storage128GB, 256GB, 512GB—
Card slotNo—
Internal Storage—256GB UFS 2.2
Card Slot—No

Main Camera

Motorola Edge+ (2022)Motorola Edge (2023)
Triple50 MP, f/1.8, (wide), 1.0µm, PDAF, OIS 50 MP, f/2.2, 114˚ (ultrawide), 0.64µm 2 MP, f/2.4, (depth), 1.75µm—
FeaturesLED flash, HDR, panoramaDual-LED flash, HDR, panorama
Video8K@30fps, 4K@30/60fps, 1080p@30/60/120/240fps, gyro-EIS4K@30fps, 1080p@30/60/120fps
Modules—50 MP, f/1.4, (wide), 1/1.55", 1.0µm, multi-directional PDAF, OIS; 13 MP, f/2.2, 120˚ (ultrawide), 1.12µm, AF

Selfie Camera

Motorola Edge+ (2022)Motorola Edge (2023)
Single60 MP, f/2.2, (wide), 1.2µm—
Video4K@30fps, 1080p@30fps4K@30fps, 1080p@30fps
Modules—32 MP, f/2.4, (wide), 0.7µm
Features—HDR

Battery

Motorola Edge+ (2022)Motorola Edge (2023)
TypeLi-Po 4800 mAh, non-removable4400 mAh, non-removable
Charging30W wired, 15W wireless, 5W reverse wireless68W wired, wireless charging

Body

Motorola Edge+ (2022)Motorola Edge (2023)
Dimensions163.06 x 75.95 x 8.79 mm158.52 x 71.99 x 7.64 mm
Weight196 g168 g
SIMSingle SIM (Nano-SIM)—
ColorsCosmos Blue, Stardust White—
Build—Glass front (curved 3D), aluminum frame, vegan leather back
Water & Dust Resistance—IP68 rated

Comms

Motorola Edge+ (2022)Motorola Edge (2023)
WLANWi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax, dual-band, Wi-Fi Direct, hotspotWi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/6e, tri-band
Bluetooth5.2, A2DP, LEYes (version not specified)
PositioningGPS (L1+L5), GLONASS, BDS, GALILEOGPS, GLONASS, GALILEO
NFCYesYes
RadioNoNo
USBUSB Type-C 3.1, DisplayPort 1.4USB Type-C 2.0

Launch

Motorola Edge+ (2022)Motorola Edge (2023)
Announced2022, February 24October 2023
StatusAvailable. Released 2022, March 24Available. Released 2023, October 11
OS—Android 13, planned upgrade to Android 14

Frequently asked questions

Which has the better battery, Motorola Edge+ (2022) or Motorola Edge (2023)?

Motorola Edge+ (2022) — 4,800 mAh for the Motorola Edge+ (2022) versus 4,400 mAh for the Motorola Edge (2023).

Which is lighter, Motorola Edge+ (2022) or Motorola Edge (2023)?

Motorola Edge (2023) — 196 g for the Motorola Edge+ (2022) versus 168 g for the Motorola Edge (2023).

Which is newer, Motorola Edge+ (2022) or Motorola Edge (2023)?

Motorola Edge (2023) — Mar 2022 for the Motorola Edge+ (2022) versus Oct 2023 for the Motorola Edge (2023).

Is the Motorola Edge+ (2022) or the Motorola Edge (2023) rated higher?

We rate the Motorola Edge+ (2022) 7/10 and the Motorola Edge (2023) 6/10.

Best phone lists →