Kyocera DuraXE Epic vs Kyocera DuraXV Extreme

A spec-by-spec comparison of the Kyocera DuraXE Epic and the Kyocera DuraXV Extreme, taken from their full specification sheets. Green marks the better value in each measured row.

Head to head

Kyocera DuraXE EpicKyocera DuraXV Extreme
Price$50$250
Our rating8/108/10
Battery1,770 mAh1,770 mAh
RAM (max)2 GB2 GB
Storage (max)512 GB512 GB
Screen size2.6 in2.6 in
Main camera5 MP5 MP
Weight (lower is lighter)193 g0 g
ReleasedApr 2021Apr 2020
Summary: Kyocera DuraXV Extreme is ahead on weight (lower is lighter).
★ Which should you buy? Kyocera DuraXV Extreme is the stronger overall pick on the measured specs. If budget matters more than the extra capability, Kyocera DuraXE Epic is the cheaper option.

Display

Kyocera DuraXE EpicKyocera DuraXV Extreme
TypeInternal: QVGA TFT; External: Monochrome OLEDMain: TFT, Sub: Monochrome OLED
SizeInternal: 2.6 inches; External: 1.08 inchesMain: 2.6 inches, Sub: 1.08 inches
ResolutionInternal: 240 x 320 pixels; External: 102 x 90 pixelsMain: 240 x 320 pixels (QVGA), Sub: 102 x 90 pixels
ProtectionNot specified, but rugged design implies protection—
Aspect ratio—4:3 (main)

Platform

Kyocera DuraXE EpicKyocera DuraXV Extreme
OSAOSP 10 (Android 10 based, non-touch)AOSP (Android Open Source Project) / Proprietary
ChipsetQualcomm Snapdragon 215 (QM215)Qualcomm Snapdragon 215
CPU1.2 GHz Quad-core A53, 64-bit1.2GHz Quad-core
GPUQualcomm Adreno 308—

Memory

Kyocera DuraXE EpicKyocera DuraXV Extreme
Card slotmicroSDXC (up to 512GB)microSDXC, up to 512GB
Internal16GB ROM, 2GB RAM16GB storage, 2GB RAM

Main Camera

Kyocera DuraXE EpicKyocera DuraXV Extreme
Single5 MP, autofocus, LED flash5 MP, autofocus, LED flash
FeaturesVideo recorder (720p at 30fps)Digital zoom
Video—720p

Selfie Camera

Kyocera DuraXE EpicKyocera DuraXV Extreme
SingleNoneNo dedicated selfie camera

Battery

Kyocera DuraXE EpicKyocera DuraXV Extreme
TypeRemovable Li-Ion 1770 mAhRemovable Li-Ion
Talk timeUp to 9.5-10 hoursUp to 9.5 hours
Standby timeUp to 16 daysUp to 18.3 days (420 hours)
ChargingUSB Type-C, charging contacts on backNot specified, likely MicroUSB
Capacity—1770 mAh

Body

Kyocera DuraXE EpicKyocera DuraXV Extreme
Dimensions4.36 x 2.22 x 1.07 inches (closed)110.80 x 56.40 x 27.30 mm (4.36 x 2.22 x 1.07 inches)
Weight6.8 oz (193 g)193.00 g (6.8 ounces)
SIMNano-SIMSingle SIM
DurabilityMIL-STD-810H compliant (drop-proof up to 5 ft onto concrete, shock, vibration, temperature extremes, etc.), IP68 dust and waterproof (up to 6.5 ft for 30 min), HazLoc: Non-incendive, Class I, Division 2, Group A-D, T4IP68 dust and waterproof (up to 6.5 feet for 30 minutes), MIL-STD-810G/H compliant (protection against dust, drops, shocks, vibration, extreme temperatures), HazLoc certified (Non-incendive Class I Div 2 for hazardous environments). Drop-proof up to 5 feet onto concrete.
Build—Smooth black plastic with rubber bumpers, non-slip Dura Grip material

Comms

Kyocera DuraXE EpicKyocera DuraXV Extreme
WLANWi-Fi 802.11 b/g/nWi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/r/k (Wi-Fi 4), 2.4GHz and 5GHz bands
Bluetooth4.2v4.2 LE
GPSYesYes, A-GPS
NFCNo—
RadioNo—
USBUSB Type-CMicroUSB (assumed for charging/data)

Launch

Kyocera DuraXE EpicKyocera DuraXV Extreme
AnnouncedApril 16, 2021April 16, 2020
StatusAvailable (though AT&T no longer sells directly)Available. Released April 23, 2020.

Frequently asked questions

Which is lighter, Kyocera DuraXE Epic or Kyocera DuraXV Extreme?

Kyocera DuraXV Extreme — 193 g for the Kyocera DuraXE Epic versus 0 g for the Kyocera DuraXV Extreme.

Which is newer, Kyocera DuraXE Epic or Kyocera DuraXV Extreme?

Kyocera DuraXE Epic — Apr 2021 for the Kyocera DuraXE Epic versus Apr 2020 for the Kyocera DuraXV Extreme.

Is the Kyocera DuraXE Epic or the Kyocera DuraXV Extreme rated higher?

We rate the Kyocera DuraXE Epic 8/10 and the Kyocera DuraXV Extreme 8/10.

Best phone lists →