Honor Magic 9 Pro Max vs Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra
A spec-by-spec comparison of the Honor Magic 9 Pro Max and the Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra, taken from their full specification sheets. Green marks the better value in each measured row.
Head to head
| Honor Magic 9 Pro Max | Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra |
| Our rating | 9/10 | 9/10 |
| Battery | 8,800 mAh | 5,000 mAh |
| Wired charging | 100W | 60W |
| RAM (max) | — | 12 GB |
| Storage (max) | 512 GB | 512 GB |
| Screen size | 6.8 in | 6.9 in |
| Refresh rate | — | 120 Hz |
| Main camera | 200 MP | 200 MP |
| Weight (lower is lighter) | — | 214 g |
| Released | Sep 2026 | Mar 2026 |
Summary: Honor Magic 9 Pro Max is ahead on battery, wired charging. Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra is ahead on screen size.
★ Which should you buy? Honor Magic 9 Pro Max is the stronger overall pick on the measured specs.
Reviewed by the infozme.com Editorial Team — see how we research & rate phones.
Display
| Honor Magic 9 Pro Max | Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra |
| Type | LTPO OLED, 1 Billion Colors, Dolby Vision, HDR Vivid, 4320Hz PWM Dimming, Honor Oasis Eye Protection | Dynamic LTPO AMOLED 2X, 120Hz, HDR10+, 2600 nits (peak) |
| Size | 6.8 inches | 6.9 inches, 115.9 cm2 (~90.7% screen-to-body ratio) |
| Resolution | 1320 x 2868 pixels (~464 ppi density) | 1440 x 3120 pixels, 19.5:9 ratio (~500 ppi density) |
| Refresh Rate | 120Hz | — |
| Features | Bezel-less | Privacy Display |
| Protection | — | Corning Gorilla Armor 2 |
Platform
| Honor Magic 9 Pro Max | Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra |
| Chipset | Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 Pro (3nm) | Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 (3 nm) for Galaxy |
| CPU | Octa-core (2x 5.11 GHz, 3x 4.03 GHz, 3x 3.74 GHz) | Octa-core (details not specified, assumed high-performance) |
| GPU | Adreno 850 | Adreno (details not specified, assumed high-performance) |
| OS | Android 17 | Android 16, One UI 8.5 |
| UI | MagicOS 11 | — |
Memory
| Honor Magic 9 Pro Max | Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra |
| RAM | 12GB, 16GB LPDDR5X | — |
| Storage | 256GB, 512GB, 1TB | — |
| Card Slot | No | — |
| Card slot | — | No |
| Internal | — | 256GB 12GB RAM, 512GB 12GB RAM, 1TB 12GB RAM |
Main Camera
| Honor Magic 9 Pro Max | Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra |
| Modules | Triple, ARRI co-engineered | — |
| Primary | 200 MP, 1/1.28" sensor, f/1.57 aperture (wide) | — |
| Ultrawide | 50 MP, f/2.0 | — |
| Telephoto | 200 MP periscope, 3.5x optical zoom, 1/1.4" sensor, f/2.6 aperture | — |
| Video | 2160p | 8K@30fps, 4K@30/60/120fps, 1080p@30/60/240fps, 720p@960fps, HDR10+, stereo sound rec., gyro-EIS |
| Quad | — | 200 MP, f/1.4, 85˚ (wide), PDAF, Laser AF, OIS; 50 MP, f/1.9, 120˚ (ultrawide); 50 MP, f/2.9 (telephoto), 10x optical zoom; 10 MP, f/2.4 (telephoto), 3x optical zoom |
| Features | — | LED flash, auto-HDR, panorama, Nightvideography |
Selfie Camera
| Honor Magic 9 Pro Max | Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra |
| Modules | Single | — |
| Primary | 55 MP, f/2.0 (square format) | — |
| Features | 3D face unlocking | Dual video call, Auto-HDR, AI ISP |
| Single | — | 12 MP, f/2.2 (wide), PDAF |
| Video | — | 4K@30/60fps, 1080p@30fps |
Battery
| Honor Magic 9 Pro Max | Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra |
| Type | Li-Po | Li-Ion 5000 mAh, non-removable |
| Capacity | 8800 mAh | — |
| Charging | 100W wired, 80W wireless | 60W wired (75% in 30 min), 15W wireless (Qi/PMA), 4.5W reverse wireless |
Body
| Honor Magic 9 Pro Max | Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra |
| Build | Glass front, Glass back, Aluminum frame (rumored) | Glass front (Corning Gorilla Armor 2), glass back, aluminum frame (assumed) |
| Colors | Black, Silver, Olive Green | — |
| Resistance | IP68 dust/water resistant (rumored) | — |
| Dimensions | — | 163.6 x 78.1 x 7.9 mm (6.44 x 3.07 x 0.31 in) |
| Weight | — | 214 g (7.55 oz) |
Comms
| Honor Magic 9 Pro Max | Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra |
| WLAN | Wi-Fi (expected) | Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/6e/7, tri-band, Wi-Fi Direct |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth (expected) | 6.0, A2DP, LE |
| Positioning | GPS, GLONASS, BDS, GALILEO (expected) | GPS, GLONASS, BDS, GALILEO |
| NFC | Yes (expected) | Yes |
| USB | USB Type-C (expected) | USB Type-C 3.2, OTG |
| Radio | — | No |
Launch
| Honor Magic 9 Pro Max | Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra |
| Announced | Not yet (Expected Sep 28, 2026) | 2026, February 25 |
| Status | Rumored / Expected Sep 28, 2026 | Available. Released 2026, March 11 |
| OS | Android 17, MagicOS 11 | — |
Frequently asked questions
Which has the better battery, Honor Magic 9 Pro Max or Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra?
Honor Magic 9 Pro Max — 8,800 mAh for the Honor Magic 9 Pro Max versus 5,000 mAh for the Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra.
Which is newer, Honor Magic 9 Pro Max or Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra?
Honor Magic 9 Pro Max — Sep 2026 for the Honor Magic 9 Pro Max versus Mar 2026 for the Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra.
Is the Honor Magic 9 Pro Max or the Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra rated higher?
We rate the Honor Magic 9 Pro Max 9/10 and the Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra 9/10.
Best phone lists →