Asus ROG Phone 9 vs iQOO 16
A spec-by-spec comparison of the Asus ROG Phone 9 and the iQOO 16, taken from their full specification sheets. Green marks the better value in each measured row.
Head to head
| Asus ROG Phone 9 | iQOO 16 |
| Our rating | 8/10 | 9/10 |
| Battery | 5,800 mAh | 8,400 mAh |
| Wired charging | 65W | 100W |
| RAM (max) | 16 GB | — |
| Storage (max) | 512 GB | 256 GB |
| Screen size | 6.78 in | — |
| Main camera | 50 MP | 50 MP |
| Weight (lower is lighter) | 227 g | — |
| Released | Nov 2024 | Sep 2026 |
Summary: Asus ROG Phone 9 is ahead on storage (max). iQOO 16 is ahead on our rating, battery, wired charging.
★ Which should you buy? iQOO 16 is the stronger overall pick on the measured specs.
Reviewed by the infozme.com Editorial Team — see how we research & rate phones.
Display
| Asus ROG Phone 9 | iQOO 16 |
| Type | LTPO AMOLED, 1B colors, HDR10, 1600 nits (HBM), 2500 nits (peak) | LTPO 2.0 AMOLED, 1 Billion Colors, Samsung M16 luminescent material |
| Size | 6.78 inches | 6.85-inch to 6.89-inch |
| Resolution | 1080 x 2400 pixels, 20:9 ratio (~388 ppi density) | 2K (1440 x 3168 pixels or 1440x2560 px), 508 PPI |
| Refresh Rate | 185Hz (adaptive refresh rates) | 165Hz |
| Protection | Corning Gorilla Glass Victus 2 | — |
| Other | Always-On display | — |
| Peak Brightness | — | 2,800 nits (global), 10,000 nits (local) |
| Features | — | HDR, DCI-P3, 3300Hz PWM Dimming, DC Dimming, TÜV Rheinland Eye Protection, Q-Flex touch control (500Hz multi-finger, 5000Hz instantaneous touch sampling) |
Platform
| Asus ROG Phone 9 | iQOO 16 |
| OS | Android 15, ROG UI (up to 2 major Android upgrades) | Android 17 (based on OriginOS 7 or Funtouch OS 16) |
| Chipset | Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite Mobile Platform (3 nm) | Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 (2nm) |
| CPU | Octa-core (2x 4.32 GHz Oryon V2 Phoenix L + 6x 3.53 GHz Oryon V2 Phoenix M) | Octa Core |
| GPU | Adreno 830 | Adreno (implied by Snapdragon) |
| Gaming Chip | — | Dedicated Q4 gaming chip |
Memory
| Asus ROG Phone 9 | iQOO 16 |
| Internal | 256GB 12GB RAM, 512GB 16GB RAM | — |
| Card Slot | No | No |
| Type | UFS 4.0, LPDDR5X RAM | — |
| RAM | — | 12 GB LPDDR6 (with up to 12 GB virtual RAM) |
| Internal Storage | — | 256 GB UFS 5.0 (expected) |
Main Camera
| Asus ROG Phone 9 | iQOO 16 |
| Triple | 50 MP, f/1.9, 24mm (wide), 1/1.56", 1.0µm, PDAF, gimbal OIS | 50 MP Primary (f/1.88, 1/1.3" sensor, OIS) + 50 MP Ultra-Wide (1/2.7") + 50 MP Telephoto (f/1.85, 3x optical zoom, 1/1.95" IMX882) |
| Ultrawide | 13 MP, f/2.2, 13mm, 120˚ (ultrawide) | — |
| Macro | 5 MP (macro) | — |
| Features | LED flash, HDR, panorama | Vivo Flagship Camera Algorithm |
| Video | 8K@30fps, 4K@30/60/120fps, 1080p@30/60/120/240fps, 720p@480fps; gyro-EIS, HDR10+ | 4K @30/60 fps |
Selfie Camera
| Asus ROG Phone 9 | iQOO 16 |
| Single | 32 MP, f/2.5, 22mm (wide), 1/3.2", 0.7µm | 50 MP |
| Features | Panorama, HDR | — |
| Video | 1080p@30fps | — |
Battery
| Asus ROG Phone 9 | iQOO 16 |
| Type | Li-Po 5800 mAh, non-removable | Si/C Li-Ion, Non-Removable |
| Charging | 65W wired (PD3.0, PPS, QC5), 15W wireless (Qi), 10W reverse wired | 100W Fast Charging (wired), 40W Wireless Charging |
| Capacity | — | 8400 mAh |
Body
| Asus ROG Phone 9 | iQOO 16 |
| Dimensions | 163.8 x 76.8 x 8.9 mm (6.45 x 3.02 x 0.35 in) | Not specified |
| Weight | 227 g (8.01 oz) | Not specified |
| Build | Glass front (Gorilla Glass Victus 2), glass back (Gorilla Glass), aluminum frame | Not specified |
| SIM | Dual SIM (Nano-SIM, dual stand-by) | — |
| Durability | IP68/IP69K dust/water resistant (up to 1.5m for 30 min) | — |
| Features | AniMe Vision auxiliary display (85 programmable mini-LEDs), Pressure sensitive zones (Gaming triggers) | — |
| Water & Dust Resistance | — | IP68/IP69 |
Comms
| Asus ROG Phone 9 | iQOO 16 |
| WLAN | Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/6e/7, tri-band, Wi-Fi Direct | Wi-Fi (likely Wi-Fi 7) |
| Bluetooth | 5.4, A2DP, LE, aptX HD, aptX Adaptive, aptX Lossless | Bluetooth (likely 6.0 or higher) |
| Positioning | GPS (L1+L5), BDS | GPS, GLONASS, GALILEO, BeiDou, NavIC, GNSS, QZSS |
| NFC | Yes | Yes |
| Radio | No | — |
| USB | USB Type-C 1.4 (dual ports), DisplayPort | USB Type-C, USB 3.2, USB On-The-Go |
| Infrared Port | — | IR Blaster |
Launch
| Asus ROG Phone 9 | iQOO 16 |
| Announced | November 2024 | September 29, 2026 (China) |
| Status | Released November 20, 2024 | Upcoming |
Frequently asked questions
Which has the better battery, Asus ROG Phone 9 or iQOO 16?
iQOO 16 — 5,800 mAh for the Asus ROG Phone 9 versus 8,400 mAh for the iQOO 16.
Which is newer, Asus ROG Phone 9 or iQOO 16?
iQOO 16 — Nov 2024 for the Asus ROG Phone 9 versus Sep 2026 for the iQOO 16.
Is the Asus ROG Phone 9 or the iQOO 16 rated higher?
We rate the Asus ROG Phone 9 8/10 and the iQOO 16 9/10.
Best phone lists →